top of page

"Infinity"

One of my all time favorite movies and probably a billion other peoples movie, (not "Frozen") would have to be "Forest Gump". The simplicity of the opening scene has you as an audience member quite skeptical of what it is exactly you are about to watch. As the African American lady sits next to him at the bus stop without any regard for what he has to say, he leans over and offers her a chocolate, in response to what I believe is his pure innocence, he says one of many corky and powerful lines (Mama always said) of this movie. "Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what your gonna get". As a young kid I just laughed at how funny it was, the comparison of life to a box of chocolates. How can one make such a comparison? As I have gotten older my whole 28yrs of life, I realize life is a little like that, hell just the other day I bit deep into a chocolate not thinking twice what was inside it, to my realization it was loaded with coconut which by the way I have a severe allergy to. So you never know what your gonna get in a box of Russel Stover chocolates. Anyway before my ADD gets the best of me and I type you a whole synopsis of Forest Gump, I want to relate what it is I am trying to say in my 1st ever blog post.

Life is beautiful, its an amazing journey that I wish was chronicled for everyone to have the opportunity to look back on. As an artist my mind sometimes goes a million different directions in a second, and I have to reel myself back in sometimes in order to make sense of any such thoughts I may have. Sometimes these thoughts are great, sometimes these thoughts are outright stupid. Nonetheless a thought is a thought and for this creative mind it means an awful lot to have a thought that makes any sense at all. I try to roll with the punches as they say, you know just go with whatever life throws at you. When life gives you lemons, you make lemonade, don't know how that works when they give you lemons and no sugar. Yet as a creator I always find ways to make the impossible, possible. I try to make sense of every situation of life, my mind doesn't rest until it has an understanding. Forest Gump though fictional is truly an inspiration of someone who never let the odds of life stack against him, I don't even think he was aware that there was any obstacles stacked against him. He just lived life, he went for what he wanted and somehow by chance he survived and conquered many obstacles where there was no conquering to be made. He somehow never let that young boy heart or desire diminish into the societal minion, many of us become. He didn't let people stop him, he trusted his thoughts, his heart and his desires. When something happened that wasn't suppose to happen he didn't run or scurry he faced it with confidence and he always ended up on top.

In reality we all run a little scared when life stacks up against us, we conform somewhat to society and become comfortable in a routine. Comfortability is a scary thought for me, I mean that not in the sense of living comfort but the sense of comfort in which my creative thoughts become stagnant and I become lost in the mix of everyone else. Sometimes I think we should all look deep inside of ourselves to find our inner Forest Gump, we have to find our purpose, so we are not just a walking being sucking up oxygen. Life is more and we must give more to it, what we do now, what we leave here on Earth is infinite and our bodies are no more than a vanished relic of what once was.

10954560_10152534270682035_2821223263533142100_o.jpg
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page